Support Home
  Device Support
  Contact Us
Why am I asked to synchronize my device with the Best Buy Digital Music Store?

To verify your subscription, the Best Buy Digital Music Store requires you to connect your device and sign in to your computer at least once every 30 days. If you don't connect your device and sign in before the end of the 30-day period, a message to synchronize your device appears.

Note: In the rare case that the music licenses become corrupted, a message to synchronize your device may appear before the 30-day period ends. The error messages that appear vary by device:
  • Creative devices - No license to play this track. Please sync your device.
  • Sansa e200R Rhapsody - Synchronize to continue your music subscription.
  • Other devices - Sync notice: to continue listening to your tracks please sync.
Some devices may also just skip over the track without an error message.

What to do
If you encounter this message, simply sign in to the Best Buy Digital Music Store with your Best Buy account and connect your device. The Best Buy Digital Music Store should automatically detect and start updating the device and the track licenses. If, after this process is complete, the tracks still will not play, please try the following:
  1. Check the date and time on the PC and the device
  2. Reauthorize your computer
  3. Transfer a new track
  4. Reauthorize your device
  5. License your device
  6. Reset the device's secure clock
  7. Make sure the latest firmware version is installed
  8. Format the device per the manufacturer's recommendations and ensure the latest firmware version is installed

1. Check the date and time on the PC and the device
If the date and time on the device or the computer is off, the track licenses can expire prematurely.

To check the date and time on your computer:
  1. Double left-click on the time (usually in the bottom-right of the screen).
  2. This should bring up a Date & Time Properties Window.
  3. Verify that the month, date, and year are all correct on your computer.

While it's different for every device, here's how to check the date and time on a Sansa device (steps should follow the same logical order on other devices):
  1. Press the Menu button.
  2. Go to Settings.
  3. Go to Date and Time.
  4. Verify the date and time shown are correct, or adjust if necessary.

2. Reauthorize your computer
  1. Sign in to the Best Buy Digital Music Store with your account.
  2. Click the My Account menu.
  3. Select Deauthorize Computer.
  4. You should get a prompt that says you have successfully deauthorized your computer.
  5. Click the My Account menu.
  6. Select Authorize Computer.
  7. You should get a prompt that says you have successfully authorized your computer.

To make sure the authorization was successful:
  1. Click the My Account menu.
  2. Select Manage My Account.
  3. Sign in.
  4. Click Authorizations.
  5. Make sure your computer shows up as authorized.

If your computer does not show up as authorized or you received an error message when trying to authorize, please see the following articles:
Why do I get a "Computer Not Authorized" error in Rhapsody 4?
How do I authorize my computer with Rhapsody 4?

3. Transfer a new track
The Best Buy Digital Music Store should automatically transfer the licenses as a part of device detection. If it doesn't, you can force the database on the player to be rebuilt by transferring a new track to it. Simply transfer a new track from the Rhapsody Music Guide that has not been on the player before.

4. Reauthorize your device
To authorize your device in the Best Buy Digital Music Store:
  1. Open up the Best Buy Digital Music Store.
  2. Sign in to your account.
  3. Connect your device.
  4. Right-click on your device and select Deauthorize Device.
  5. This should show Deauthorizing Device... on the bottom.
  6. Once this appears to be complete, right-click on your device again and select Authorize Device.

For more information, see How do I authorize my device in Rhapsody?

5. License your device
Licensing your device updates the subscription content on it. To license your device, right-click on the device in the Best Buy Digital Music Store, and select License.

Note: Not all devices will have this feature in the right-click menu.

6. Reset the device's secure clock
Most devices will have a secure clock. Not all devices support the Reset SecureClock feature in the Best Buy Digital Music Store.
  1. Open up the Best Buy Digital Music Store.
  2. Connect your device.
  3. Hold down the CTRL and SHIFT key while right-clicking on your device.
  4. Select Reset SecureClock.

7. Make sure the latest firmware version is installed
You can find instructions for some devices in our Knowledge Base:
For other devices, visit the device manufacturer's website or contact the manufacturer for more assistance with updating the firmware.

8. Format the device per the manufacturer's recommendations

Note: Formatting a device will erase all of the content on it. This includes, but is not limited to, music from the Best Buy Digital Music Store as well as other sources, photos, videos, and personal data. If your device contains data you don't want to lose, make a backup of this data if you have not already done so.

Format the device according to the device manufacturer's suggested method. You want to make sure that the device's license storage is cleared during the format. Many devices have this file hidden and a standard format through Windows Explorer may not erase this file. Many devices have a format option within the device menu or a special utility that you can download to perform the format.

Check the documentation that came with your device or visit the website of your device manufacturer for instructions.

If these steps do not resolve this issue, please contact Best Buy Digital Music Store Help.
 
Best Buy Digital Music Store image